NMSU Logo Homepage

EH&S homepage

Defensive Driving Classes

Auto & truck safety

The schedule for the EH&S Defensive Driving Classes (DDC) at NMSU is shown below.  This class is one of the requirements for a permit to drive a university vehicle (licensed for highway use -see  Vehicle Policy).  For the convenience of faculty, students, and staff, Environmental Health & Safety (EH&S) provides this monthly training during regular work hours and at least one evening course in the fall semester. Classes typically include 35-45 persons and are open to the public (see map & parking information). Auto safety
Schedule
The classes are held in the EH&S Training Facility, Academic Research Center, NMSU.  The schedule and other useful information are given below.  Please register on-line at http:// Safety.NMSU.edu   For other questions about EH&S classes, check our  training section and monthly schedule   [ Calendar ]

Register 2013/14 DATES DAYS TIME LOCATION
closed January 7 & 9, 2014 Tuesday & Thursday 9 - 11am (both days) Acad. Research C, rm 110
closed February 5 & 7, 2014 Wednesday & Friday 2 - 4 pm (both days) Acad. Research C, rm 110
closed March 10 & 12, 2014 Monday & Wednesday 9 - 11am (both days) Acad. Research C, rm 110
closed April 8 & 10, 2014 Tuesday & Thursday 2 - 4 pm (both days) Acad. Research C, rm 110
closed May 19 & 21, 2014 Monday & Wednesday 9 - 11am (both days) Acad. Research C, rm 110
closed June 18 & 20, 2014 Wednesday & Friday 2 - 4 pm (both days) Acad. Research C, rm 110
closed July 22 & 24, 2014 Tuesday & Thursday 9 - 11am (both days) Acad. Research C, rm 110
closed August 18 & 20, 2014 Monday & Wednesday 2 - 4 pm (both days) Acad. Research C, rm 110
closed August 26 & 28, 2014 Tuesday & Thursday 5 - 7 pm (both eves) Acad. Research C, rm 110
Available September 16 & 18, 2014 Tuesday & Thursday 9 - 11am (both days) Acad. Research C, rm 110
Available October 8 & 10, 2014 Wednesday & Friday 2 - 4 pm (both days) Acad. Research C, rm 110
tentative November 10 & 12, 2014 Monday & Wednesday 9 - 11am (both days) Acad. Research C, rm 110
tentative December 2 & 4, 2014 Tuesday & Thursday 2 - 4 pm (both days) Acad. Research C, rm 110

  Car crash safety information

Online Registration     Google map to EH&S office    Vehicle Safety Link 

Fees, Requirements, & Temporary Permit
The basic fee for the class for NMSU employees, university community, and the public is $50.00 (effective 01/01/11).  There is an additional charge for applicable license check required for a NMSU vehicle permit (see below). Individuals taking the class for personal reasons must pay the class fee in advance of the class.  An additional  fee may be required for issuing a university vehicle permit to individuals with DDC certificate obtained outside NMSU EH&S.  A temporary permit is available to employees to the next available class.

  • Prospective drivers of University vehicles must have a valid driver’s license and will undergo a motor vehicle records check. State statute requires individuals to obtain a NM drivers license within 30 days of establishing residence in NM. Before a NMSU permit is issued, out-of-state license holders must provide a certified copy of their driving history.  Note EH&S can now check most states for an fee depending on state. Restrictions by California, Pennsylvania, Washington and Maryland requires drivers to personally obtain their driving history. EH&S must have this information before a NMSU permit is issued. Driving records release: form
  • Classes often fill early, please request registration at least two weeks in advance to ensure a reservation.   Individuals taking class for personal reasons may register on-line but registration is not complete until the enrollment fee has been paid (or a university account is provided). 
  • Reservations may be cancelled if the enrollment fee is not paid at least a week prior to the class date.  Departments will be billed for registered individuals who fail to attend and neglect to cancel and reschedule  prior to the course.  Course registrants must attend the entire DDC course in order to receive a certificate of completion. 
  • This class is not required for the NMSU Utility Cart Operator Permit. To drive a utility (golf, electric, etc) cart on campus please see NMSU Utility Cart Safety Policy.
Auto safety information

This page was last updated on 08/22/2014

Please Note

  • Individuals must bring a current drivers license and a pencil to class
  • Check class location (Google map) & visitor parking (visitor parking).
  • No one will be admitted fifteen minutes after class is in session!
  • The instructor has the right to refuse admission to disruptive individuals.
Site Meter

Call (646-3327) or visit the for more information  
The EH&S office is located in Academic Research C, rm. 109 (MSC3578), 4200 Research Drive (map)

Pdf copy of this page